Serving Tampa Bay’s Bankruptcy Attorneys, Judges and the Community at Large

Douglas P. McClurg Professionalism Award

Douglas P. McClurg was one of the founding directors of the TBBBA and served as its second president in 1989-90. Doug was highly regarded for his extraordinary abilities and keen sense of professionalism. Doug was a leader in the Tampa Bay community and a highly decorated combat veteran.  After his untimely passing in 2002, the TBBBA established the Douglas P. McClurg Professionalism Award as its highest honor. The “McClurg” is presented periodically to a member of the TBBBA that has demonstrated over a period of years the traits of professionalism exemplified by Douglas P. McClurg during his lifetime.  The McClurg Award’s criteria are: outstanding effectiveness in the presentation of matters to the Bankruptcy Court; a reputation for thorough preparation; civility and courtesy to opposing counsel; appropriate courtroom demeanor; ethical conduct and professionalism at the highest level; and long-term service to the bankruptcy bar.

The past recipients of the Douglas P. McClurg Professionalism Award are:

Don M. Stichter                      2004

Leonard H. Gilbert                 2006

Harley E. Riedel                     2007

Jeffrey W. Warren                  2008

Robert B. Glenn                      2011

Roberta A. Colton                  2012

Robert A. Soriano                   2017

Russell M. Blain                     2018

Lynn Welter Sherman             2022