Serving Tampa Bay’s Bankruptcy Attorneys, Judges and the Community at Large

Judge Alexander L. Paskay Scholarship

Judge Alexander L. Paskay Scholarship

The Judge Alexander L. Paskay Scholarship was established in 1994 by the Tampa Bay Bankruptcy Bar Association, the Florida Bar Business Law Section, and numerous judges, lawyers, and scholars throughout the country to honor Judge Paskay, then the Chief Bankruptcy Judge for the Middle District of Florida. Judge Paskay passed away in 2012 and, with a 48-year tenure on the bench, remains the longest serving bankruptcy judge in U.S. history, presiding over thousands of cases filed each year in Tampa and Ft. Myers. Among Judge Paskay’s other accomplishments, he served on the Advisory Committee on Bankruptcy Rules and Practices as an appointee of the Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court and was inducted into the first class of the American College of Bankruptcy.

The Judge Alexander L. Paskay Scholarship is awarded annually to a second- or third-year law student who shows “outstanding aptitude in areas of bankruptcy law” and desires to specialize in the practice of bankruptcy, insolvency, or creditors’ rights law.

The past recipients of the Judge Alexander L. Paskay Scholarship from 2004 to present are:
Leslie A .Case 2004
Esther A. McKean 2006
Stacey-Ann M. Saint-Hubert 2009
Monique E. Baros 2010
Lauren L. Lewis 2011
David B. McClelland 2011
Amanda E. Chazal 2012
Patrick A. Kennedy 2012
Shannon M. Cook 2013
Jonathan R. Hart 2013
Mark F. Robens 2013
Andrew J. Ghekas 2015

Lara E. Breslow 2016
Daniel A. Chehouri 2016
Correy B. Karbiener 2016
Lauren A. Baio 2017
Jessica A. Hicks 2017
Taofikat I. Ninalowo 2018
Brittany G. Showalter 2018
Andrew J. Wit 2019
Shanna M. Lindemeyer 2020
Matthew P. Rothrock 2020
Breyon Love 2021
Quentin D. Poteralski 2022